Staff and Board

Executive Director

Peter Korn, the Center's Director, has been a furniture maker since 1974. He is the author of Why We Make Things and Why it Matters: The Education of a Craftsman (Godine Publishing, 2013), Woodworking Basics: Mastering the Essentials of Craftsmanship (Taunton Press, 2003) and The Woodworker's Guide to Hand Tools (Taunton Press, 1998). Prior to founding the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship in 1992 Peter spent six years as Program Director at Colorado's Anderson Ranch Arts Center and four years as Adjunct Associate Professor at Drexel University. His award winning furniture has been exhibited nationally in galleries and museums.


Gallery and Marketing Manager

Victoria Allport has been our Gallery and Marketing Manager since July 2011, when she returned to Maine after twenty years on the west coast. Her extensive background in marketing and fine art management includes working as Assistant Director at the Olga Dollar Gallery in San Francisco, CA and at the Elizabeth Leach Gallery in Portland, OR. Most recently, she was President of Allport Editions for fifteen years.



Development Director

Ellen Dyer joined the Center in 2018. A lifelong Mainer, she has worked extensively in museums, libraries, and archives up and down the coast.  She holds a B.A. from Bowdoin College and an MLIS from Simmons College.



Student Services Manager

Dorrie Higbee joined the Center in May 2009. She and her family moved to Maine from Colorado in 2004 to build their home by the sea. Dorrie brings a flare for logistics coordinating and several years of business and personnel management experience to the organization. She holds a B.A. from St. Bonaventure University in New York.


Digital Fabrication and Assistant Facilities Manager/Instructor

Mark Juliana joined the Center as the Assistant Facilities Manager in August 2011. His background includes 20 years in the Silicon Valley. Mark attended the Center's 2007-08 Nine-month Comprehensive and was self-employed in Ashland, Oregon where he built custom furniture and built-ins in his own shop. When not at the Center, you'll likely find Mark fly fishing or kayaking (or more likely doing both).


Facilities Manager/Instructor

Mason McBrien became the Center's Facilities Manager in August 2011 after being the Assistant Facility Manager for two years. After years of self-employment building custom furniture, museum installations, and historic garden architecture in New Hampshire, Mason enrolled in the Center's 2007-08 Nine-month Comprehensive and subsequently was awarded a Studio Fellowship. His work has been featureded in Fine Woodworking and Lark Books' 500 Tables.


Facilities Assistant

Matt McLaughlin became the Center's Facilities Assistant in October 2018. Matt is a Veteran of the United States Air Force and has a background in aircraft mechanics. He made his journey to Maine from Philadelphia to attend the 2017-2018 Nine-Month Comprehensive program and returned shortly thereafter as a workshop assistant. 


Operations and Finance Manager

Kat Richman joined the Center as Operations and Finance Manager in June 2010. Previously she was the Operations and Finance Manager at the Center for Maine Contemporary Art and the Director of Finance and Operations at Waterfall Arts. She received a B.A. in Art History from Bowdoin College. Kat has a background in real estate management and is a Notary Public. She lives in Appleton in a strawbale house that she and her husband designed and built.


Staff Fellow

Chelsea Van Voorhis became our Staff Fellow in December 2018. She is a graduate of our Furniture Intensive and a former workshop assistant. Chelsea received a B.F.A. in Design from Pratt institute in 2009 and worked in the fashion industry before relocating to Maine.



Board of Directors

David Ingram, Natick, MA

Vice President
Mark Tresnowski, Chicago, IL

Steve Vela, Woodland Park, CO

Rick Croteau, North Kingstown, RI

Richard C. Kellogg, Jr., Houston, TX

Tom Lie-Nielsen, Waldoboro, ME

Jeremy Morton, M.D., Portland, ME

Asher Rodriquez-Dunn, Rumford, RI

Don Seeley, Tucson, AZ

Joan Welsh, Rockport, ME

Presidents Emeriti
Bob Fippinger, New York, NY

Mark Horowitz, Weston, MA

Dick Whittington, Dallas, TX