Maine Wood 2020

January 17 - March 20, 2020

Maine Wood is a juried, biennial exhibition designed to showcase the breadth, creativity, and excellence of Maine’s woodworking community. “This is our seventh biennial,” says Peter Korn, Executive Director of the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship, “and I’m happy to say that woodworking is thriving in Maine.”  For 2020 the Center received 76 submissions from 48 Maine artists and artisans.

Furniture makers in the show include Nick Barboza, Hampden; David Boyle, Bath; William Francis Brown, Camden; Sam Cotton, Rockland; Dev Flaherty, Camden; Sayer G. Houseal, Rockport; Saer T. Huston, Kennebunkport; Heide Martin, Appleton; Jeffery Mazur, Boothbay; Daniel Monsees, Burnham; Kevin Rodel, Portland; Osamu Sassa, Camden; Scott Stuart, Arrowsic; Clayton Thompson for Endeavour Craftsmen, Rockland; and Christina M. Vincent, North Haven.

Woodworkers, sculptors, carvers, and turners are Steve Bartlett, Bath; Clara Cohan, Cape Elizabeth; Dennis Curtis, Augusta; William L. Janelle, Bridgton; George Partal, Bangor; Malcolm Ray, Damariscotta; and Chelsea Van Voorhis, Cushing.

Several of Maine’s leading craft associations co-sponsor Maine Wood. These include Maine Crafts Association, Maine Woodturners, and Maine Woodworkers Association. Décor Maine is the exhibit’s media sponsor.

$2,400 in prizes donated by generous corporate sponsors will be awarded at the opening reception. These include gift certificates from DMT Diamond Whetstones for ‘Best Original Design’; from Lie-Nielsen Toolworks for ‘Jurors’ Best in Show’; from Packard Woodworks for ‘Best Turned Object’; from Rare Woods, USA for ‘Best Use of Wood’; from Rockler Woodworking and Hardware of South Portland, Maine for ‘Outstanding Craftsmanship’; from Tools for Working Wood for ‘Best New Maker’; and from Woodcraft of Portsmouth for ‘Best in Furniture.’ There is also a cash prize from Holt & Bugbee for ‘People’s Choice.’ Click here to view a complete list of prizes and award winners. 

Jurors for this year’s biennial were Heidi Earnshaw, a furniture maker in Toronto, ON; Tom Huang, a designer/maker and Associate Professor of Design at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, KS; and Jennifer Shirley, a woodturner/instructor in Plainfield, IN.